WolfgangRegistry.com Forum Index
Forum dedicated to Van Halen Model Guitars

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

5150 re-tolex job in progress
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
drolaw

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 4:51 pm    Post subject: 5150 re-tolex job in progress Reply with quote

Hey guys, I bought the 5150II that sounded great. I got it cheap because it was cosmetically in bad shape. I called Peavey and they were nice enough to charge my credit card for new knobs, handle, rubber feet, tolex, and other misc replacement items.

If the weather stays above 60 this weekend I'll start the re-tolex job and post the pictures here as I go.

I've never done this before but I've read a lot on the web on how it is done. I'm told it will take several days so check back and see how I'm doing. I'll try to post pictures on Sunday...got plans tonight to see Metal Shop then Saturday I have a gig.
Ned
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking forward to it. I've got a Marshal cab that needs to be recovered badly.
Tokai Guitars
drolaw

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the weather man was correct. It's just above 40. I'll have to wait until the weather gets above 60 before I can start this project.

I promise to put up the changes as they happen. It appears it won't happen until after Christmasn.

Keep watching.

Last edited by drolaw on Mon Dec 29, 2008 12:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Ned
Site Admin

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dro-

I'm just up the road from you and it's freezing up here. Will be playing NYE at the Hotel Valencia on Houston.
Tokai Guitars
drolaw

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote